top of page
  • Writer's pictureJay Belga

Week 4: My Teaching Practice in a New Class!

Updated: Oct 6, 2019



September 23, 2019: It was decided that we are going to rotate class schedules starting this week. I was placed in Grade XI-MIPA 6 today. Unfortunately, I only have 45 minutes to teach the class due to an annual event of SMAN 2 Semarang that they have to attend. It is called "Muslim Gravity" where religious leaders and singers will perform on stage for all Muslim students, school staff, teachers and administrators. Around 8 am, we started the class with the usual preliminary activities such as greetings, building rapport with the students, asking them about their mid-term exams, and checking of attendance. I also introduced my class rules to the students (my 3 R's) and a new chapter that they will learn for their finals. The lesson was about poetry which is one of the many topics that is hardly understood by many. But since I like poetry very much, I gave them tips on how to analyze poems. Luckily, I was well-received by the students and hoped that they could learn a lot from me.

Afterward, the students watched a video of a speaker reciting a poem entitled "Fire and Ice" by Robert Frost. While they listened, I also asked them to fill in the blanks using an activity sheet that I provided for them. This is to test their listening skills, spelling and word recognition. Once the activity has been done, I asked them, "What do you feel after listening to the poem? Did it make you happy? Sad? Scared? Angry?" Then, students began to answer on their seats saying that they felt a bit afraid and angry. Some said that they were happy. Before validating their responses, I guided them to understand the poem better. Once they did, I got the answers that I was looking for. Having too little time, I immediately discussed the definition, basic key concepts and social functions of poetry. In the classroom, I often ask questions. I don't usually give away the answers just because it's easier and faster for me to end the discussion. That's why I elicited answers from the first. Based on my assessment of the students, they are expressive and opinionated even though they have some problems with their English grammar. However, it didn't bother me. As long as it is easy to understand and they are speaking clearly, it is good enough for me.

After the class discussion, we ended the class around 8:45 am. It was the swiftest class that I have ever experienced. I wish I could've had more time so I can share my knowledge more on poetry which I hold dearly. But anyway, it's not yet over. We still have a class on Thursday and it is also scheduled to be our "Evaluation Day" with Miss Nani and Mr. Ibnu. I realized that changes are sometimes scary and inevitable. When I was asked to change class schedules, I needed to prepare myself and bid goodbye to Grade XI-IPS 2. I will definitely miss them even though I only taught there twice. But regardless of whether changes are scary or not, I told myself that I must always be ready and I should know how to cope with change. In the professional world, this happens most of the time so why not start to get used to it now? The funny thing is that I worry too much about it thinking that the worst may happen but when it actually happens, I find myself in joy and in relief. Terima Kasih Grade XI-MIPA 6 for accepting me and allowing me to be your student-teacher in your English class! Let's have a fun run together! That's all. Terima Kasih! -end-

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page