top of page
  • Writer's pictureJay Belga

Week 4: Evaluation Day!

Updated: Oct 6, 2019


My motivational activity called "Decode the Words"

September 26, 2019: This day was the most nerve-wracking day of my practice-teaching life in Semarang, Indonesia! I was scheduled for my teaching evaluation at 11:15 am in Grade XI - MIPA 6. Mr. Mat Ibnu and Ms. Nani Hidayati were seated at the back of the class to assess and evaluate my performance. Honestly, I was confident before entering the class. I prepared all of my materials, worksheets, handouts and other teaching tools for the class. I even practiced at home before this day came! But when the time drew near, I felt my knees shaking and my tummy rumbling but I took a deep breath and shook the nerves off. It was the most important day for me.


I started the class by greeting them, checking their attendance and adding some classroom management routines like fixing their chairs and settling the class down so I can see that everyone is ready to listen and pay attention. It went smoothly. I was also proud of my students at that time when I asked questions about the lesson on Poetry that we had previously. Most of the students recited and participated very well.


After a few minutes, the students were grouped into four: Gryffindor, Slytherin, Ravenclaw, and Hufflepuff. These four groups were utilized until the end of the period. Whenever they get a score from the activity or recite the correct answers to my questions, the group will instantly have an additional point. The group having the highest point at the end will receive 100 points. The rest will have 90, 85 and 80 points according to the number of their points.


When the grouping was done, I introduced a simple puzzle for them. I call it Decode the Words. In this game, each group should decode the words into English using the coding sheet that I posted on the board. It's just like translating Hyroglyphics but I made a different set for them to decode. As soon as they understood my instructions, the game began. I was nervous at that time because I was not sure if the students will have fun. Thankfully, everyone seemed to enjoy it and upon seeing the grinning faces of my evaluators, I realized that the activity was successfully done!

After the motivational activity, the students were all focused on the lecture. I discussed Poetry in general and the different parts of its structure through a PowerPoint slide presentation. It is actually an easy lesson for them to understand. I gave them copies of a poem entitled Trees by Joyce Kilmer. Mostly, my teaching approach is student-centered because students needed to identify the poem's structure every time I discussed one part after the other. Good thing that the students listened carefully so they can do the task well.

Having 30 minutes left before the class ended, I asked them to work in groups again to accomplish the worksheet that I gave them. I roamed around in case the instructions weren't clear or they have more questions about the activity Finally, the students passed their papers.

In the end, I thanked the class for doing so well and for cooperating with me from the very beginning. I also gave Walter some time to thank the class since he was their first student-teacher before me. Unexpectedly, a student stood up and said a few words to us. On behalf of the entire class, he thanked us and wished us well for our future career. It was touching really. And once again, I fell in love with teaching even more. Before we exited the classroom, we took group photos together but not only in XI - MIPA 6 but also in XI - IPS 1 and XI - IPS 2 where we also taught. We visited the classes according to the teaching schedule that we have on that day. Overall, it was fun and I am very satisfied with how it all went down.


It was only a fleeting moment when I realized that this was the last day of our teaching experience in SMAN 2 Semarang. I will miss the classes that I taught. Terima Kasih (thank you) XI - MIPA 6, XI - IPS 1 and XI - IPS 2 for welcoming and accepting us as your student-teachers for the month of September! I will never forget all of the moments that we shared. Good luck with your studies and future plans! I hope we get to see each other soon. That's all. Terima Kasih!

-end-






25 views0 comments
bottom of page