top of page
  • Writer's pictureJay Belga

Week 2: Team Teaching Part 2 of 2

Updated: Oct 6, 2019


Me wearing a Brown Batik with our school buddy, Alfin, in his yellow Batik and Sarong.

Thanks to Alfin, I got a new Batik today! I am always in awe of all the Batik clothes that they have here. It’s very rich in culture! Anyway, I wore this in class but my entry is not about Batik fashion. It’s what I did in my second day of teaching Grade XI-IPS 2! So how was it?


September 12, 2019: In continuation of our lesson about Conditionals, Alfin and I attended our class at Grade XI-IPS 2 around 8am. The lesson focused more on Type 2 and Type 3 Conditionals. Actually, these are advanced lessons already that Pak Ibnu suggested for us to teach them. However, he asked us to introduce the form and the key concepts only. I feel confident this time since I previously met the class. Plus, they were behaved, active and most of all, cooperative at most times. Of course, there are times when I had to settle them down if they are being too noisy.


How did I introduce the lesson? Simple, I asked them to read four (4) sentences and identify the verb tenses in each clause. For instance, one of the sentences was If I am tired, I take a break. The first clause, If I am tired, is in simple present tense. And the second clause is in simple present tense as well. The reason why I let them do that is because I’d like them to master the different tenses of verb that will be useful in constructing their own conditional sentences and remembering the different forms in each type of conditional. I guess I’m explaining in detail too much here! In short, this helped the students to understand the lesson better.


As for discussing the lesson, I gave them a lecture through a PowerPoint slide presentation about all 4 types of conditionals. It’s in tabular form so it would be easier for them to organize it in their notebooks. Today, I used a teacher-centered approach since the topics are too difficult for them to explain on their own. Nevertheless, I still tried to do some questioning strategies so I could get input from my students as well.


After the discussion, it was time to have some practice exercises. It is simply an alternative-response test and a fill-in the blanks activity. The students stated their answers in the chorus. In the middle of answering the questions, I asked some of the students to explain why. Impressively enough, they were able to explain it right. Two thumbs up Grade XI-IPS 2!


Lastly, I grouped the students into four for their final activity. They were asked to write dialogue and perform it in front through a role-play about their future plans. I gave them specific plans such as plans about college, vacation, career, and hobbies. One group after the other, they presented quite well. I was satisfied with their performance. Although, some are still struggling to speak English fluently. For some, it was more on their grammatical structures. That’s why after each group performs, I always give them my feedback for their improvement. Generally, the performances were quite interesting.


After I ended my class with them, one student gave me a doodle art which I appreciated a lot! It was well-crafted but I don't usually look at the quality of the token but it's the thought that counts!

Overall, the students were quite responsive. Whenever they are asked, they answer. Some might have taken a long time to process the question but eventually, they are able to answer correctly. I realized at this point that differences between languages is hardly a barrier. It is how you communicate with them in the simplest and clearest way possible for you to understand each other. That's all! Terima Kasih!

-end-

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page