top of page
  • Writer's pictureJay Belga

TRAVEL SPOT #2: Pecinan-Semawis and Yisan Coffee Shop

Updated: Oct 6, 2019


September 6, 2019: Thank God it’s Friday! It is the last day of our observation week at SMAN 2 Semarang and I was about to get home and update my blog. However, Walter and I were asked by Rika, an OIA employee of UNISSULA, and Miss Nani Hidayati, our supervisor, to go to Pecinan-Semawis tonight. They said that it is like a Chinese food market. Good thing I hadn’t eaten my dinner yet because I was really starving at that time!

Nani (wearing a yellow hijab), Rika (wearing blue hijab), me and Walter (wearing a white t-shirt)

Walter had already gone ahead with Rika and I was a latecomer because I had to fix my things at the boarding house. Around 6 pm, I finally arrived and met with Miss Nani at the said place. I instantly saw a long line of food stalls like it’s waiting for me to come by and to dig in! As we enter into the place, one thing caught my attention though and it was the Squidpost who was torching some squid. So, I bought one and enjoyed what they were doing while waiting. It was a show really. After that, we looked for Walter and Rika who were there already. As soon as we saw them, I can see from Walter’s eyes that he is excited to buy some food and drinks. In fact, I was feeling the same way! So, we bought some food and drinks after we gathered. I only brought back drinks with me, it’s only Jus Mangga or Mango Juice, while Walter brought a lot. We had a few chats together while we ate our dinner; a few laughs here, interesting talks there and some serious conversations too. I enjoyed the food but I enjoyed the people around me more.


When we were done, Miss Nani recommended a very nice coffee shop nearby. It is her favorite coffee shop in Semarang – Yisan Coffee Shop. Well, she described the shop as accommodating and friendly staff and having great blends of coffee serving authentic coffee products. I must say…she is ABSOLUTELY right! The coffee shop owner and the bartenders are really nice and they are so sociable. There was 0% discomfort at all. It was more fun when they showed in front of me how they make their Coffee Brule. It was fun to watch! I don’t usually watch people make coffee in a café but now, I get to witness it firsthand. More than that, the taste is topnotch! It suits my taste in coffee very well: not too sweet, not too bitter. If I go to Pecinan again, I will definitely visit this place.




Having a full and happy tummy is one of the best ways to end the week. Terima Kasih Rika and Miss Nani and Rika for showing us the place! It is memorable indeed. That's all. Terima Kasih!

-end-

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page